The decisions a person makes when they’ve been drinking may come back to haunt them once they’ve sobered up. Take, for example, the costs that come with the choice to drink and drive. In the state of Idaho, a DUI brings penalties that most people never want to face. Below are a few facts to consider before deciding to drive after drinking.
Alcohol Consumption and Its Effects on the Body
Alcohol absorption causes all of the body’s systems to slow down and relax, impairing a person’s judgment and control over their body. Alcohol affects:
- Reaction time
The myth that taking a cold shower or drinking coffee will help a person sober up quickly is just that: a myth. The only factor that affects a person’s intoxication level is the passage of time. Therefore, a DUI attorney in Twin Falls, ID would advise a client to wait before they drive.
Why It’s Not Good to Drink and Drive
Unfortunately, the effects on a person’s judgment may lead them to believe they can drive, that they’re not drunk, and there’s no reason to be afraid. With a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of even a bit above .05%, a person’s driving ability is already diminished. Even a slight buzz will put the driver and other motorists at risk.
DUI in Idaho
An Idaho DUI occurs when a person is:
- Under 21 with a BAC of .02% or more
- Over 21 with a BAC of .08% or more
- Driving under the influence of drugs and other substances
A driver facing DUI charges may face criminal sanctions along with civil penalties, such as:
- A mandatory license suspension of 90-180 days
- A minimum reinstatement fee of up to $285
- A three-year financial responsibility requirement
- Six months in jail
- A fine of up to $1000
Second DUI offenses within ten years carry stricter penalties. A person will lose their license for at least a year, and they’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee. Financial responsibility requirements apply, and a client may face up to a year in jail as well as the installation of an ignition interlock device.
It’s best to choose a designated driver if one has been drinking. However, if an arrest is made, the driver should call a DUI attorney in Twin Falls, ID as soon as possible. Browse our website for more details or call to schedule an appointment.
Be the first to like.